Guests come as strangers, leave as friends, and return as part of our extended family…
The Tucker House Inn & Harrison House Suites are perched on a hill overlooking the town of Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, off the coast of Washington State. Located in a peaceful residential area just a few minutes from the ferry landing, the inn today provides memorable breakfasts, peaceful gardens, and a chance to experience Island Time.
The Historic Tucker House, the green house located on ‘B’ and Nichols Streets, was built in 1898, and was owned by the inn’s namesake, Mr. Clarence M. Tucker and his wife, Marie. A businessman. Mr. Tucker journeyed to San Juan Island to build and operate a grist mill. Over the years, the mill struggled to stay in operation, but Tucker found other avenues for his abilities. He served as county treasurer and worked at the San Juan County Bank as a clerk.
The Upper Tucker House (as we affectionately call it today), a larger green house one block up the hill on ‘C’ Street and Nichols Streets, was built about ten years later by the Joy Family, whose descendants still reside in Washington State.
The accommodations in the two historic Victorian-era houses feature antiques, propane fireplaces, and spa bathtubs. Restoration has been lovingly applied to provide guests with all the modern conveniences while retaining the charm of days gone by. Both the upper and lower houses were built with local timber using the natural bedrock as the foundation. (When the inn’s owners Anna Maria and David restored the floors in the “C” Street house, they used island timber that was milled and kiln-dried on the northwest side of San Juan.)
Harrison House Suite’s history spans several generations. This newly restored 1905 historic Craftsman home was originally named the Middleton House, located at is current location on the corner of C Street and Harrison. It was built and owned by the Spencer family prior to the Middletons. In 1992 the house was renamed the Harrison House Suites when it was converted to a bed & breakfast. The San Juan Suite, which encompasses the first floor of the historic house, showcases great architectural detail with its high ceilings, classic woodwork and leaded stained glass built-ins. The Harrison House Suites main door, accessible off of Harrison Street, was built by the same carpenter who did the famous mansion in Victoria’s Butchart Gardens.
The Middletons are descendants of Peter Kirk, who journeyed to San Juan Island because of the Lime Kilns. Peter Kirk was a steel mill entrepreneur from England who founded Kirkland, Washington. Today, the Harrison House Suites consist of two buildings – the historic Middleton House and a second building which houses the 1930 Roche Harbor Suite, which was moved from its namesake harbor to its present location in the early 1990s.
What these buildings have in common is the simplicity of design. They are attractive and functional but without elaborate ornamentation or frills. They were built with local timber using the natural bedrock as the foundation. Money was not so plentiful in those days and could not be used for the unnecessary. Buildings were generally painted white, more for functional protection against rot than for decoration. In our renovations, we have chosen to adorn these buildings with a splash of color – keeping with a historical palate.
The Tucker House Inn & Harrison House Suites are locally owned and operated by Anna Maria de Freitas and David Pass. We are a green inn and committed to building a sustainable business and to contributing year round to our community by volunteering and participating in island activities and promotions.